Personal Musings: Pause Signs

I’m reminded of one of my beloved childhood stories Winnie the Pooh.

“Oh, help!” said Pooh. “I’d better go back.”
“Oh, bother!” said Pooh. “I shall have to go on.”
“I can’t do either!” said Pooh. “Oh, help and bother!”

This describes exactly how I feel when I get that annoying error code from my TS3 game – the game was unable to save. Or when the game glitches and quits and I get the aggravating error message: The Sims 3 has stopped working. Windows is checking for… well whatever Windows checks for… Or when the game takes forever to save or load or lags awkwardly when I’m trying to move my Sims from one location to another.

I’m tempted in this moment to stare at the computer screen and screech in frustration.

I have done so on many occasions.

Recently, I somehow accidentally deleted my Version.tag. This resulted in many frivolous attempts to restore and fix my game before I admitted what even Sims player (or any gamer for that matter) doesn’t want to admit – I must start over. 

Oh the agony! I’ve put so many hours into creating my games, my characters, my worlds, hunting for custom content, making my own content, finding the necessary mods. Reinstalling the game is a terribly long process. I feel like the helpless Winnie the Pooh. I can’t go back. I can’t go forward. I… oh bother!

I have to start new. In a way, it’s going forward. In a way, it’s going back. In a way, it’s completely diverging. Today I will blaze a new trail in the Hundred Acre Wood. While it is not always pleasant in terms of technicalities, I’m learning to embrace the divergent path.

Christopher Robin had such delightful adventures in the Hundred Acre Woods with all of his animal friends. I have a running list of fictional and fairy tale lands I’d love to visit if they were real. I have this thought about someone creating a giant theme park with rides and adventures based on these different amazing places. I digress.

Recently, I read a post by a fellow Sim-blogging friend. After our conversations in the forums, I felt compelled to write my own post about the topic and to brave the world of unknowns and actually share my thoughts out here, not merely Kass’s story.

I’ve sent all you lovely readers updates before, but this is different. This is me. All me. No Kass involved.

CathyTea writes a lovely post on gaming glitches here. It reminded me of a quote from humor writer Jarod Kintz. He writes in his book, 99 Cents for Some Nonsense: 

I think they should change STOP signs to PAUSE signs.”

As I shared on CathyTea’s post, I’m learning to embrace these pauses in the game and in life. I’m learning to appreciate the game lags and glitches because as she also shares, we all need to look up from the computer screen every once in awhile, yawn, and stretch.

This time through reinstalling my game, since I knew what I was doing and I had backups of backups, it only took me a day to fully bring my game back up to where I wanted it to be. Previously it had taken me days and weeks.

The reinstall and custom content and mod loading takes a long time still. This time, I purposely took breaks, and allowed myself to drink in the moments between loading screens and launcher loads. I stretched. I looked up. I walked away. I got myself a delicious cup of dark roast with hints of cocoa. I walked outside and turned my face into the sun. I allowed myself to be present in the moment. To genuinely pause. To reflect.

Perhaps this all sounds odd to you. That’s okay. I don’t even know if you’re reading this still. If you’re not, that’s okay. I understand that too.

My point is… perhaps we need to recognize these “pause” signs from the universe or a Higher Being and actually make use of them. If we aren’t in tune to them or if we’re moving at a breakneck speed through life, we might just miss an opportunity for something beautiful and meaningful.

5 thoughts on “Personal Musings: Pause Signs

  1. Pingback: Personal Musings: Pause Signs | TheKrazyCrazyLifeofKass

  2. It sounds positively lovely! I’m currently in a phase in my office life where I’m receiving “pause,” “don’t start yet,” and “what? aren’t you finished yet?” messages simultaneously, so it is wonderful to be reminded of the beautiful world and planet that exists outside of our computer screens, our minds, and our to-do, and don’t-do-yet, and hurry-up-and-finish lists!

    Thanks for reminding us!

    Liked by 2 people

Commenters rock! Write on.

