Difficult Siblings and Dashing Baristas (TND)

Posted on Updated on

It’s a beautiful day in Maristella. The sun is shining. Not a cloud in sight. Since St. Patrick’s Day passed recently IRL, I thought I’d add a similar-esque holiday to the Sims world. I have Irish heritage, and I created Kellie with that idea also. Tomorrow is the “Luck Day,” a custom holiday I added to the calendar. I made it to mimic a spring celebration inspired by St. Patrick’s Day with some fun traditions that I’ll reveal in my next post. I love Seasons gameplay and I don’t use it enough when I’m doing a story-driven game.

With Kellie’s Hibernian heritage (my Simworld version of Ireland), I figured this was a great holiday for her to visit home. Going forward, I plan to write a little more dialogue and story from here on out as it suits my whim. We will meet Kellie’s family, though one of them proves to be much more difficult than expected. Per usual, I took the gameplay and rolled with it, crafting reasons and stories in my head. I hope you enjoy!

Since Kellie doesn’t have “wheels,” her older sister, Quinn drove out from Orchid City (a.k.a. Del Sol Valley). Quinn is a high maintenance woman, and she drives a blue sports car. She complained about the heat of Maristella.

“It’s unbearably hot,” Quinn moaned, and rubbed the back of her neck.

“Whoa,” Kellie exclaimed. “Calm down.”

“How can you stand to live here?” Quinn grumbled.

“Could you lower your voice?” Kellie asked, nervously glancing about to see Nancy Landgraab, Johnny’s estranged mother strolling by in a white track suit.

The other woman gave them a curious stare before continuing on her way. Kellie awkwardly waved before turning her attention to her sister. Quinn was having a full on meltdown.

“I hate the sun, I hate it!” she screeched and kicked the tire.

“And you didn’t have to mow down my bushes,” Kellie sighed, ignoring her sister’s irrational reaction.

“Hey, it’s not my fault that you don’t have a proper driveway,” Quinn retorted.

“Oh llamas!” Kellie rolled her eyes. “And I suppose it’s not your fault that you hopped the curb. It was just in the way, right?”

“Curbs smurbs,” Quinn waved her arms like a crazy person.

“Stop it, you’re being ridiculous,” Kellie huffed and shrugged her shoulders. “You’re older than me. You should set a better example.”

“I’m being ridiculous?” Quinn exclaimed, puffing out her chest. “I live in civilization where we have reasonable temperatures when you step out of a vehicle. You’re the one who is ridiculous for moving to this death trap.”

“Oh shut up about the heat already.”

“I could smack you.”

“Oh just try!”

Quinn lifted her hand, fully intent on smacking her kid sister across the face. Kellie grabbed Quinn’s wrist and prevented the impact.

“See… just as I thought,” she declared triumphantly. (I’ve never seen this reaction or counterreaction to the ‘slap ’em silly’ interaction.)

“Stop it, I’m a twig,” Quinn whined. “Sorry for insulting where you live.”

“Yeah, I haven’t even invited you inside yet,” Kellie released her sister’s arm. “I’ll go get my bags… if you’re still gonna drive me.”

“Be quick. I don’t want to melt,” Quinn muttered.

After a few hours of driving and Quinn changing the station two dozen times because she wanted to try and catch “her song” on the radio… they finally arrived in Newlyn Hills. It had been several months since either one of the girls had visited their parents. Quinn immediately pointed out that the Golf and Country Club hadn’t changed much. She bragged about the wealthy boyfriends who took her for golfing dates. Kellie rolled her eyes in disgust, leaning an elbow against the car door and sighing out the window. The sisters were almost night and day different in their personalities and life choices. Quinn wrote commercial jingles in a music studio in the Valley, and spent her nights partying at clubs. Kellie, on the other hand, didn’t know her career trajectory, but she was much more content at home on the couch reading a book with Butterscotch at her feet most nights.

The one thing they shared in common was a love of caffeine. They stopped at their favorite coffee house, the Utopia Cafe, for a beverage and snacks. Both their parents were likely still at work. Their father was a general practitioner, running a busy medical clinic, and their mom was a restaurant reviewer, who often took trips into the city. The sisters figured they could kill some time before meeting up at their childhood home.

“Do you feel better?” Kellie asked, somewhat sarcastically.

Quinn had changed her entire outfit, flawlessly in the car, which was quite the feat, while Kellie drove for the last forty minutes. She was surprised that her sister trusted her behind the wheel of one of Quinn’s prize possessions. But Quinn insisted that she would cool off and calm down if she could wear different clothes. Kellie liked the ‘calming’ down idea.

“Shush!” Quinn closed her eyes and inhaled deeply. “Feel that?” her eyes popped open. “A breeze.”

“We have those in Maristella,” Kellie protested.

Another stunning and creative lot by Jenba/silrosse. Newlyn Hills is a world she has renovated and is included in the Maristella Plus save file. I love the indoor lighted tree, the use of bright colors, and the overall quirky vibe of this place. I would hang out here in real life for hours.

J. Huntington gets around. First, he was working at Blue Skies in Maristella and now he’s working in Newlyn Hills at Uptopia. Maybe he’s home for the weekend on a spring break kind-of thing and works at both places. Maybe he’s got massive student loans he’s trying to work off/pay off. Either way, Kellie orders a mint mocha. I added the “green,” or at least that’s what I imagine is the festive beverage for a Bernish weekend treat. She also introduced herself to him and swear it sounded something along the lines of “charmed.”

“Hey, I know you,” Kellie said, surprised. “Don’t you work at that other place?”

“Yeah, the owners are related so I can bounce between shops easily,” Jay explained. “I’m J. Huntington the Third by the way.”

She gave her name and then offered a coy smile. “Oh the Third, huh?” Kellie smirked. “Then… charmed…I’m sure.”

“Nah,” he said. “It’s not like that. I pour ristrettos for the rich.”

“Hey, it’s a big step up from flipping burgers,” she remarked.

“Yes, coffee adds class,” he nodded.

Kellie joined her sister on the couch.

“Why do you like this trash?” Quinn asked, flipping through a book.

“Hey, did you go through my bag?” Kellie replied, defensive.

“‘Reel Her In?’ Does it get any more corny than that?” Quinn teased.

“Can you not go through my bag?” Kellie groaned.

“Oh, but where’s the fun in that?” Quinn laughed. “You can go through mine… but all you’ll find is lip gloss, sheet music, and my emergency club outfit.”

“You’re impossible!” Kellie sipped on her mocha and reluctantly let the subject drop.

Kellie returned her mug to the counter like the conscientious person she is. J seemed to be in the mood to chat. And it was better than arguing with Quinn.

“How was your drink?”

“Delicious to the last drop.”

“Ah, that’s what we like to hear. So you’ll come here again?” (I could’ve sworn he winked).

Being the cheerful, flirty person she was, Kellie responded enthusiastically. “Yes, absolutely. Especially if there’s a dashing barista making these mochas for me.”

“Dashing, huh?” he lifted his hand and rubbed his impeccably smooth jawline.

“My only suggestion is half-price pastries after three,” Kellie added. “And I’d be tempted to buy more.”

“I’ll see what I can do for a lovely customer such as yourself,” J replied, flirtatiously. “What kind of pastry are you in the mood for?”

“Something to distract me from…” Kellie looked over her shoulder as Quinn cackled hysterically over something in the book she ‘stole.’ “…well, that. Siblings can be so difficult sometimes.”

“Yeah, I picked up on the vibe. She’s your sister then?” J surmised.

“Definitely related, though sometimes I wonder how,” Kellie shrugged her shoulders.

“I’ve got other customers, but… here…” J handed her a plate. “Can’t go wrong with a heart-shaped cookie. We make the jam fresh here on site.”

(Kellie seemed surprised. She had ordered the barista’s recommendation. J’s choice was an excellent indicator of his mood.

“Impressed?” he asked, cheekily.

“I’d be impressed if it’s half-price,” she replied, trying to play it cool for once.

“How about it’s on the house?” J said, returning to the espresso machine.

“Now I’m impressed,” she took a bite.

“And please come again soon, Miss Noble,” he added.

“I certainly will, Mister Huntington… the Third.”


CREDITS: Kellie’s sister, Quinn was created by hypeerchild. I made moderate modifications and changed her name.

Also Johnny called to invite Kellie over, but she’s out of town. I’m happy he reached out though. Maybe they can continue to be good friends. I do find it interesting that he mentioned “family,” as he is currently estranged from the Landgraabs. Maybe he means “found family” like people he considers to be like family. Or Nancy was super curious after witnessing the Noble sisters arguing earlier in the day, though I didn’t think Johnny was in touch. Or he has a “family” of his own and I didn’t realize it. And I have to fix that goofy hat of his. Ha!

One thought on “Difficult Siblings and Dashing Baristas (TND)

    cathytea said:
    March 26, 2024 at 9:56 am

    The sisters are fun together!

    Liked by 1 person

Commenters rock! Write on.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.