The Unluckiest of Luck Days, Pt. 1 (TND)

Posted on Updated on

Luck Day officially arrived. Kiera awakened first. She audibly groaned as she slipped out of bed. Something about a bad back and a poor mattress. Possibly time to upgrade.

Kellie wandered down next. Her mother was busily decorating a plate of doughnuts. (I realize from this angle, at first glass, it appears as though the vase is at the end of the icing bag. Haha.)

“Something smells amazing,” Kellie exclaimed.

“Oh good,” Kiera murmured. “Help yourself to some coffee.”

“Did you hear that?” Kellie asked (and looked right at the camera in the freaky way Sims sometimes do. Don’t mind me, Kels. I am just narrating).

“Hear what?” Kiera asked, without looking up.

Mother and daughter sat on the kitchen barstools. They enjoyed a cup of coffee and a cozy conversation. Kellie complained about her job. (What job? I have yet to give you one. Okay, fixing that today). Kiera boasted about a recent promotion. (Not the best comeback to the unemployed). They discussed the spring weather, shared the spirit of Luck Day, and worried about the effects of aging (well, mostly Kiera).

By this point, Quinn and her dad, Finn (I am still baffled at how I did not catch this rhyme thing the first time) joined the family. Quinn had prepared a spring fruits tray the night before (a custom food dish by icemunmun). The donuts somehow lost their icing??!?? Kiera was concerned. I would be too.

The spring fruit board comes with strawberries, kiwi, grapefruit, cherries, pineapple, and apricots and includes three dipping sauces – honey, chocolate, and vanilla sauce. Kellie appeared to like the berries and cherries the most. Kiera liked the kiwi. Quinn just gobbled up her food.

And per usual Sim shenanigans, they switched up seats. Oh now the sprinkles are back. Huh? Finn complained about old age, aches and pains. He had unfortunately awakened with a headache. I directed him to take medicine. It didn’t seem to work. I had him place a health call and purchase more medicine. Now he’s overly medicated and in danger of overdosing. Eek! Kellie encouraged her dad to take better care of himself. Finn didn’t appreciate the pep talk.

Quinn seemed to be cross-eyed after finishing her food. Maybe you ate too fast, girl. Or the cherry, grapefruit, or pineapple was particularly tart. I love these custom flower plates (from the icemunmun mod). So cute and perfect for the first (custom) holiday of spring.

Kiera shared her frustrations. With what? I’m not sure. I didn’t quite catch this conversation. She did roll a want to do something romantic, and then wanted to share her “passion for romance.” I can’t remember if that is a mod or natural gameplay. Either way, I canceled it out because it didn’t seem like appropriate family breakfast table conversation. That doughnut looks good though.

Like they discussed yesterday, Kellie decided to help her mom in the garden. They both changed out of pajamas. Kellie walked over to plant pretty red snapdragons. The flower is perfect for cool seasons, and they are a hardy plant. Today is a bit windy. Did you know red snapdragons symbolize passion and positive energy? I thought that was perfect for Kellie’s romantic trait. I wish the positive energy had lasted the rest of the day, but… I’m getting ahead of myself.

Keira planted a crocus and a lily in the little pots near the back porch. Crocus flowers often bloom in early spring. They symbolize self-love. This is always a good thing to practice. Lilies represent purity and rebirth.

My maternal grandmother worked for a florist before I was born, one of her many jobs. I remember how she used to make flower arrangements frequently to celebrate the seasons. There is something lovely about piecing together flowers and leaves and shoots and ribbons. I got really into the meaning of flowers at one point.

As Easter approaches, I remember the year I made the ‘perfect’ gift for my grandma. My grandpa carved a wooden plant box/vase for me. I collected pinecones in their yard (they lived in the foothills) and hot-glued each one to the vase. I picked my grandma’s favorite flower – calla lilies (which the ancient Greeks believed to represent magnificent beauty). Then I wrapped a crooked yellow ribbon around the entire thing. I was probably about eight years old. I have fond memories of finding all the ingredients and working with my grandpa to design it. Maybe I’ll have Kellie try the floral arrangement skill sometime.

Kellie gave her newly planted snapdragons a little TLC – some water and fertilizer (a pet poop from Butterscotch). Girl, where were you hiding that? Haha. I didn’t realize it was in her inventory. Seems like a stinky thing to bring with you on vacation.

Johnny called to hang out. Aww. He’s hosting a Luck Day party. Well, sorry, some other time. We’re in Newlyn Hills. Kellie will try to hang out with him when she returns. This is his second invitation he’s sent us.

There is a delightful family room/game room on the second story of their home. I added the beautiful custom shamrock rug and the gnome painting (cc by simdertalia), changed some of the shades of items to green for the “luck” holiday, and added these stunning green curtains. I’m not sure I’ve ever used this particular shade or these curtains in a home, but I love the little gold specks. So fitting for a St. Patrick’s Day-esque holiday. The Noble family decided to gather for a fun game of Don’t Wake the Llama.

Kellie lost badly. The entire tower collapsed. Finn started complaining about his headache again. He was leaning so far forward, I reckon the tower collapsed and hit him in the forehead. Kellie winced.

“Freezer bunnies!” she cursed. “I was so close.”

“Better luck next time,” Quinn teased.

One thought on “The Unluckiest of Luck Days, Pt. 1 (TND)

    cathytea said:
    March 30, 2024 at 10:25 am

    That seems like a really fun family day!

    Like

Commenters rock! Write on.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.