Decorating for Spring (TND)

Posted on Updated on

After stopping for coffee, the girls headed to their childhood home. Their father, Finnigan (or Finn as he prefers) is a general practitioner in the medical field. Their mother, Kiera is a restaurant critic. The home is a beautiful creation in Jenba’s Newlyn Hills (Maristella Plus save file). I made a few minor changes inside, changed a few colors, and added a few St. Patrick’s Day… excuse me… Luck Day decorations. The parent Sim credits are included at the end of this post.

This little cutie is from the St. Patrick’s Day set by simdertalia. You can download via Sims File Share (SFS) no ads. He is a recreation of Roy G. Biv from the Sims Mobile. I thought this happy leprechaun is a great addition.

I also have a board dedicated to St. Patrick’s Day/Celtic/Irish cc over on Pinterest (CAUTION: It does include images of awesome Celtic tattoos. All Sims are clothed, but these could be considered borderline NSFW because a lot of skin is showing to properly showcase the tats). I was surprised there is not much cc out there (or at least that I could find) for this theme.

Kellie and her mother, Kiera hugged immediately. Actually, they kept hugging. Haha. I think it was a glitch. I clicked out of the endless hugs and redirected them. Quinn and her dad both rolled a want to “cloudgaze,” which I thought was super cute. Then I couldn’t find the interaction in the menu. I wonder if it was too late in the day or if my clouds mod interrupted it or blocked it somehow. :/

“How’s my favorite second-oldest daughter?” Finn asked with a teasing grin. (Opps… I made an unintentional rhyme… haha!)

“Dad!” Quinn rolled her eyes. “I’m your only second-oldest daughter.”

“Exactly,” Finn smirked.

Kellie changed into more suitable attire to help her mom with the outside decorations. Aren’t they the sweetest here? Mom and daughter sang a traditional song from the land of their ancestors. This is technically Luck Day Eve, if there is such a thing. Haha. It’s my holiday. I guess it can be whatever I want.

Peeps, I learned something new! I watched a YouTube series recently with a Let’s Play. I cannot believe I am just now discovering this. You can rummage for seasonal decor! Kellie started into the boxes and found a flower arrangement, a bunny, and a florist supplies box (completely free). I am saving these for later spring holidays.

Finn and Quinn (argh! Another rhyme. I swear, this was not on purpose). Dad and his second-oldest daughter headed inside to make supper. Quinn boiled a pot of mulled wine (an icemunmun custom food mod). I tried to find an appropriate festive drink. This seemed like the best option. Celebrating the end of winter with a warm spiced beverage.

Finn chopped asparagus for the lamb dish. This is another custom recipe from icemunmun – lamb with garden veggies. A great dish for early spring. Out with the winter cold and in with the spring breezes.

By dusk, Kellie and her mom, Kiera had completed decorating the home. What a beautiful display for the holiday! Green lights dotted the eaves and fences. Rainbow banners hung from the spandrels. Kellie and Kiera were proud of their efforts.

Of course, this takes seconds in game, but I like to think mother-daughter spent several hours decorating. I love the versatility of seasons gameplay, and the calendar feature. It really adds a depth to the Sims. It helps break up the monotony and gives me plenty to do with the Sims. I’ve added loads of custom holidays and events to Kellie’s calendar and I look forward to exploring this with you. Do you use decorations for different seasons in your own gameplay? Do you have a favorite décor piece?

The family gathered around the dinner table. Lively dialogue ensued. For some reason, Kellie wanted to complain about the dish. Maybe she likes her lamb a little less dry.

“Then dunk it in your wine,” Quinn joked.

Kellie elbowed her sister in the ribs.

“Kellie, be kind,” Kiera admonished.

“The veggies are good,” Kellie changed the subject, munching on the asparagus. “Did you grow them in your garden, Mom?”

“Not this year, it’s too early,” Kiera replied. “Though I’m thinking of planting snapdragons in the morning if you would like to help.”

“That sounds fun,” Kellie bobbed her head.

“Ick dirt!” Quinn grimaced. (She has the high maintenance trait).

“I made a rainbow gelatin cake for dessert,” Finn said. (Apparently, rainbow jello poke cake is a thing in real life too).

“Now we’re talking,” Quinn said, rubbing her hands together. (I don’t know… was she cold? I took it as excitement about dessert).

“Ooh, that’s perfect for the season,” Kellie exclaimed. “Did you use a yellow or white cake?”

“White,” Finn answered. “But I’m out of whipped cream.”

“Aww man!” Kellie reacted. (I think she has a sweet tooth).

“It’s better that way,” Quinn said. “You can really appreciate the flavors.”

And she really did appreciate the flavors more! For some reason, Finn(igan) and Quinn relocated to the end of the table. I think it’s because Kellie set the table and I didn’t clear the plates before dessert. Kellie and her mom cleaned up, but they both got slices too.

After supper, Quinn turned in early. She was exhausted from all the driving, even though Kellie shared some of the efforts. Kellie joined her parents in the living room and they enjoyed watching a cooking show.

“Do you do much cooking in your new place?” Kiera inquired.

“Not as much as I’d like,” Kellie replied. “We do share communal meals sometimes with produce from the garden.”

“That’s nice,” Finn nodded.

“I can send some recipes with you if you want,” Kiera offered. “Tell me what kind of produce you grow and I can make more specific recommendations. Have you found a job yet?”

“Kiera stop pestering the girl. I can’t hear the program!” Finn complained.

(He is an elder btw, and Kiera is on the cusp. I liked the idea of older parents. I dislike when elders all have grey or white hair only so I kept his adult hair color. I think he is quite dashing for an older Sim.)

Kellie went upstairs to crash in her old bedroom – shared with her sister, Quinn. They do have another sister, Jessie but she is not visiting currently. I love the bright orange, yellow, and blue theme in this bedroom. I didn’t get pictures at great angles. I did add a few decorative pieces but left the room relatively unchanged. P.S. Don’t worry about Butterscotch. Allan offered to watch the dog for the weekend. Kellie figured it would be too stressful for a new animal companion to be subjected to a car ride.


Credit for Finnigan goes to SakuraLeon. I changed his name to Finnigan Noble, to keep a bit of his original spirit. Also, I tweaked his outfits with some Irish-themed cc, added eyelashes, skin details, yada yada.

Thea is now Kiera. She had a hearing aid, which I thought was super cool for representation! But I removed it because it interfered with earrings I wanted to use. I might add it back later when she ages up to an elder. Credits go to Jadebabez86. Made my usual tweaks. I did keep her vitiligo skin, which is hard to tell right now, but you will probably see it better in future posts.

4 thoughts on “Decorating for Spring (TND)

    livinasimminlife responded:
    March 29, 2024 at 10:45 am

    Like families often pass items down. I think that would be nice.

    Like

    cathytea said:
    March 28, 2024 at 9:52 am

    Such fun family time! When I’ve had super-poor Sims, I’ve rummaged in the Attic Boxes then sold the stuff they found! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

      livinasimminlife responded:
      March 29, 2024 at 10:16 am

      I don’t know how I never knew this. I may have Kellie take a few items home. Like her mom “gifted” them to her.

      Liked by 1 person

Commenters rock! Write on.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.